Today's FHA Mortgage Rates in North Carolina

FHA Loans In North Carolina

For most people, owning a home is the ultimate achievement, but securing a mortgage can be daunting, especially for first-time homebuyers. Fortunately, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) provides a valuable option for everyone looking to buy a home in North Carolina. With relaxed credit requirements, low down payment options, and competitive interest rates, FHA loans have become increasingly popular among North Carolina homebuyers.

How North Carolina FHA loan works

The Federal Housing Administration is a government agency that provides mortgage insurance to FHA-approved lenders for single-family and multi-family homes in the United States and its territories. Since its creation in 1934, the FHA has insured tens of millions of residential properties, making it the world’s largest insurer of residential mortgages.

The primary goal of FHA loans is to assist low- to moderate-income families in achieving their dreams of homeownership. The main advantage of an FHA loan is the lower minimum down payment requirement compared to conventional loans. Additionally, FHA loans are affordable to borrowers with lower credit scores. To qualify for an FHA loan, borrowers must meet certain requirements.

North Carolina FHA Loan Requirements

  • The borrower must have lived in the home for at least a year as their primary residence.
  • The borrower must be a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident.
  • A valid Social Security number is required.
  • The borrower must demonstrate steady employment and credit history.
  • A minimum credit score of 580 for a 3.5% down payment or 500 for a 10% down payment.
  • Down payment of at least 3.5% of the purchase price (can be gifted from a family member).
  • Debt-to-income (DTI) ratio of 43% or lower.

Types of FHA loans in North Carolina

FHA offers a range of loan types that can meet various financial situations and homeownership goals. Here are five types to consider:

Fixed-Rate Mortgage
A fixed-rate mortgage is the most common type of FHA loan. With this loan, the interest rate and monthly payment remain the same throughout the loan term, typically 15 or 30 years.

Adjustable-Rate Mortgage (ARM)
An ARM mortgage means its interest rate changes periodically, usually every year after the initial fixed-rate period. ARMs may be a good choice for borrowers who plan to sell or refinance their home before the interest rate adjusts.

Energy Efficient Mortgage (EEM)
An EEM allows borrowers to finance energy-efficient improvements to their homes, such as solar panels or efficient appliances, as part of their mortgage. The cost of the improvements is rolled into the mortgage, and the borrower can benefit from lower utility bills and increased home value.

Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM)
A HECM, also known as a reverse mortgage, is available to homeowners age 62 or older who have equity in their homes. The loan allows the borrower to convert some of their home equity into cash, which can be received as a lump sum, monthly payments, or a line of credit.

203(k) Renovation Mortgage
A 203(k) loan helps to finance the home purchase and renovation. The loan amount is based on the projected home value after the renovations are completed. This loan can be a good option for homebuyers who want to purchase a fixer-upper or make improvements to their current home.

How to Get Rid of PMI on FHA Loan

If you are paying PMI (private mortgage insurance), you may be wondering how to get rid of it. Here are some steps you can take to eliminate PMI on an FHA loan:

Build equity
The first step in getting rid of PMI on an FHA loan is to build equity in your home. You can do this by making your monthly payments on time and by paying more than the minimum required each month.

If you have built up enough equity in your home, you may be able to refinance into a conventional loan that does not require PMI.

Request PMI removal
If you have built up enough equity in your home, you can also request that your lender remove PMI from your FHA loan.

The date of your FHA loan origination is crucial in determining how and when you can remove MIP. If your loan originated between July 1991 and December 2000, unfortunately, you won’t be able to cancel your MIP. For borrowers whose loans originated between January 2001 and June 3, 2013, MIP can be canceled once their LTV reaches 78%. However, for loans originating after June 3, 2013, MIP is only canceled when the mortgage is paid in full unless the borrower made a down payment of at least 10%.

It’s best to consult with your North Carolina mortgage broker to determine your options for getting rid of PMI on your FHA loan.

Apply for an FHA loan in North Carolina

Are you looking to buy a home in North Carolina but unsure of your financing options? Consider FHA loans! At LBC Mortgage, we have a team of experts in FHA loans who can help you determine if this program is right for you. Our experienced loan officers will guide you through the entire process and answer any questions.

Take the first step to homeownership and contact us today to get started!

Frequently Asked Questions About FHA Loans

FHA stands for Federal Housing Administration. An FHA loan is a type of government-backed mortgage insured by the FHA, which is a division of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). FHA loans are available for purchases and refinance and have low down payment requirements and fixed interest rates.

An FHA loan is insured by a government agency, while a regular loan, also known as a conventional loan, is not insured or guaranteed by any government agency. There are some other differences between an FHA loan and a regular loan:

  1. FHA loans require a lower down payment, which is as little as 3.5% down, while conventional loans may require 10-20% down.
  2. Borrowers with lower credit scores may qualify for FHA loans, while conventional loans require a credit score of 620 or higher.
  3. FHA loans require mortgage insurance, which protects the lender in case the borrower defaults on the loan. Conventional loans may also require private mortgage insurance (PMI) if the borrower puts less than 20% down.
  4. FHA loans have specific property requirements, including safety and livability standards. Conventional loans have fewer property requirements.

One of the main disadvantages of an FHA loan is the requirement to pay mortgage insurance premiums (MIP) for the life of the loan. This can add significantly to the overall cost of the loan over time.

Take appointment for your
free consultation

Start your application today

Connect with us

Whether you’re buying a home or ready to refinance, our professionals can help